Fourth of July Cookie Baking

The fourth of July seemed like a great day for baking so I decided to make something new and something familiar. I can’t make cookies without Casey craving chocolate chip so I made the usual “family recipe” (the one on the back of the Nestle chocolate chips package). I can practically do those in my sleep and they are always tasty, especially when they come right out of the oven!

Chocolate Chip Cookies Up Close

For the something different I looked to Serious Eats since I’ve been marking recipes as favorites like crazy there. While I was very tempted to make the Spicy Hot Chocolate Pie, that will have to wait until my birthday. Casey and I decided we’d make that together to celebrate. But for the 4th I wanted something a little less ambitious, but just as tasty. Eureka! Chewy Ginger Cookies with Cardamom and Black Pepper. I made them as described other than the candied ginger, which I had to leave out since I just could not find at my local Safeway. I’d like to try it with that another time, though. Oh and I used regular sugar (not coarse) for rolling, but I couldn’t see or taste a marked difference there. Nex time I’d also amp up the amounts of black pepper and cardamom. They’re tasty ginger snaps, but it’s hard to tell there’s anything really different about them unless you know what to pay attention to.

First Batch of Ginger Cookies

Both batches of cookies were big hits at the annual celebration of colorful fog (aka fireworks and Fourth of July party in the Presidio). We actually saw the bottom half of some of the lower-hanging fireworks this year! It was a great party.

Begging Dogs at the Fourth of July Party

More Pictures from Baking

Key Ingredients for Chewy Ginger Cookies

Key Ingredients: Easy-Pour Molasses, Ground Cardamom, Lemon Zester for Grinding Fresh Ginger

Dry Ingredients for Chewy Ginger Cookies

Dry Ingredients for Chewy Ginger Cookies

Fresh ground pepper, ground ginger, ground cardamom, ground cinnamon, unsweetened cocoa, salt, baking soda, flour.

First Batch Ginger Cookies

First Batch of Chewy Ginger Cookies and Dough

They really just set in the oven. They stay chewy for so long because of the safflower oil!

Tagged , ,

One thought on “Fourth of July Cookie Baking

Leave a Reply

