Back to Knitting

With the whirlwind of the show over (sniff sniff), my life is falling back into the balance it had before. I found that so much dancing was absolutely incredible for one part of my self, but it meant that I wasn’t knitting at all! That was fine for a while, but I’m glad in a way to be back to my little routine. I’ll look forward to the next show, of course, and perhaps be better prepared to make sure I take care of all the little corners of my self in the process.

But there is so much knitting stuff to talk about! This is the year of frogging or finishing unfinished objects for the Yarn Wranglers (the knitting group I belong to), and while I’m not sure I’ll be able to stick to that plan entirely, I’m doing ok so far. I finally (FINALLY) frogged the February Lady Sweater I had in progress that either needed to be restarted or killed. It’s dead. That yarn is all wound up in new balls and will probably be used for Ysolda’s Vine Yoke Cardigan. If I ever get up the nerve to knit a fitted sweater again. I’m considering attacking something more forgiving like Jared Flood’s Inversion. Yummy, cozy, Japanese-inspired drapeyness!

I’m also still working on a project I began last fall, which I realize now I haven’t yet written about. My good friend Paula gave me three balls of KnitPicks City Tweed, each in a different color, and I wanted to make something special with them. I decided on argyle legwarmers! Because when you combine things I love, that’s pretty much what the result will be. The perfect first colorwork project. Thanks to Yarn Wranglers, I now zip along with two colors (for some reason Fair Isle technique is recommended for this pattern, though intarsia would make more sense. It does make them REALLY thick and warm, though, so it’s probably intentional). I’ve also learned duplicate stitch, which is really fun to do. I modded the pattern to be a true argyle (lines running through the diamonds, not outlining them) and it looks neat. Argyle everything – coming soon.

No, I think after this I’ll need a break. I want to make that Inversion cardigan and I want to make flip-top mittens for myself (like the pair I made for Lia):

Lia in her Snapdragon Mitts

But not the same pattern, fun as it is. I want something with that flip-top and I think I’ll include a small Fair Isle pattern on the wrist and flip-top. I’m thinking a natural palette. It’s not quite cold enough for me to feel the need, but this past winter I was dying for them! *sigh* Why does making the things I want to make always make me want to buy more yarn!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

